Print Page   |   Sign In
New Medical Examiners Certification Requirements for Interstate Commercial Driver’s License

Do you Perform Medical Examinations for Commercial Interstate Drivers?

Beginning May 21, 2014, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) will only accept from CDL drivers a medical examiner's certificate issued by a medical examiner listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

The FMCSA has established the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners and is requiring all health care professionals who conduct physical examinations of interstate commercial motor vehicle drivers to: 

  • Complete training that is accredited by a nationally recognized medical profession accrediting organization to provide continuing education units and meets the FMCSA standards;
  • Pass a certification exam to demonstrate that the medical examiner is qualified and competent to conduct physical examinations of drivers who wish to obtain their interstate Commercial Driver’s License; and
  • Maintain competence by periodic training and testing.

Training courses are available through various organizations, including the Oregon Medical Association (OMA) and the Institute for Nurse Practitioner Excellence (INPE). Testing must be done separately at a federally approved site which can be found on the FMCSA webpage here.

  • For more information about these new FMCSA requirements, click here 
  • For a National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners FAQ sheet, click here 
  • For a Step-By-Step Checklist for Obtaining Your CDL Medical Examiner Certification, click here 
  • For more information about OMA’s online course, click here
  • For more information about INPE’s training course, click here

10/16/2020 » 10/17/2020
43rd Annual NPO Education Conference

Privacy Policy

Nurse Practitioners of Oregon, 18765 SW Boones Ferry Road, Suite 200, Tualatin, OR 97062
(503) 293-0011 or 800-634-3552 (Oregon Only) E-mail: